Introduction


What is an Acceptable Use Policy (AUP)? The AUP is a page pertaining to terms and conditions set by your school or organisation that users must 'Accept' or 'Agree' to before being allowed onto the school network and out onto the Internet. 


Configure AUP


The AUP settings are configured individually for each Group under:

Groups -> Settings -> Privileges -> AUP Settings. 


Figure 1: AUP Settings:

Figure 1: AUP Settings



Here, you can enable or disable the AUP for that Group. The first, is the AUP URL. Admins for Sonar can have a custom AUP Page created (like a basic HTML page), and hosted on one of the web servers within the school or organisations. You can then point the AUP URL to that page and it will display when users log in.


THE AUP POLICY

You'll notice another setting below the URL that shows the AUP Policy. This Policy indicates when the user will see the AUP Page. There are two options:

  • First Time Login: This will only display the AUP page the first time a user logs into the school or organisation's network. Once they have accepted the policy, they will be let through, and they will never see the AUP page again (until the AUP has been reset).
  • Every Time Login: This will display the AUP page every single time the user connects or attempts to log into the school or organisation's network. The user must then accept the terms and conditions every time before they can attempt to use the Internet. 
  • Weekly Logon: As the name suggests, AUP Acceptance will expire on a weekly basis and users will be forced to accept it again after one week. 
  • Monthly Logon: AUP Acceptance will expire on a monthly basis and users are required to view and accept the AUP every month. 
  • Yearly Logon: AUP Acceptance will expire on a yearly basis and users are required to view and accept the AUP at the start of every new year.


RESETTING THE AUP

You can attempt to reset the AUP by clicking the button "Reset AUP" or "Reset All AUP". The Rest AUP button resets the Policy for just that group. By clicking Rest All AUP, it will reset the Policy for ALL Groups on Sonar.